Mike Convin - RE/MAX Regency

Buying and Selling a home might very well be the most expensive purchase our clients make. We are honored that so many people have trusted us to handle their real estate transaction. Those that felt the same way have left comments below to help give others a sense of what working with us is like.

Highly likely to recommend

Mike was excellent throughout the entire process of selling our house. He guided us through the necessary improvements to maximize the return on our investment and helped to coordinate the various parties needed to complete the process. We were able to sell the house for $11K more than our asking price, and would not have been able to do this without his expertise. Thanks Mike!

Local knowledge
Process expertise
Responsiveness
Negotiation skills
written on 9/1/2018 by mike druzak Sold a Condo home in 2018 for approximately $425K in Springfield, VA.
Highly likely to recommend

Everything was great; Mr. Convin truly cares about his clients and goes above and beyond to help. We were extremely pleased with our experience and will be contacting him when it is time to sell our place and buy a new one. He knows the process, knows how to negotiate, and is willing to talk and help any time of day.

Local knowledge
Process expertise
Responsiveness
Negotiation skills
written on 7/14/2018 by tpiro100 Bought and sold a home in 2018 in Mount Hebron Park, Alexandria, VA 22310.
Highly likely to recommend

Mike was super helpful and enthusiastic throughout the process. He made sure that everything was reviewed and explained. I would 100% recommend to anyone looking for an honest person to help them find the home of their dreams.

Local knowledge
Process expertise
Responsiveness
Negotiation skills
written on 7/11/2018 by ariana mead Bought and sold a Single Family home in 2018 for approximately $425K in Hanover, MD.
Will never recommend

While perhaps not the worst realtor in the entire DC metro area, Mike is certainly in contention for the title. Here's the long and the short of it… I recently put my DC condo up for sale, and I gave Mike the listing. Moreover, I allowed him to be my agent on the purchase of a new property in DC [in the world of real estate, folks, that's the equivalent of winning the Daily Double]. for the selling of my home, I am sorry to say that Mike was an UNMITIGATED DISASTER. So much so, that I'm at somewhat of a loss to know where to start in describing the extent of his ineptness and incompetence. Let's start with his COMPLETE lack of knowledge with anything having to do with the DC real estate market. I now realize that in choosing a real estate agent, finding someone with knowledge and expertise about the market they are selling in is extremely important. Mike's lack of experience with DC real estate prevented him from offering me the kind of advice that a client needs when selling a home (especially in the "off-season", as I was...). The extent of Mike's advice was always "drop the price", which was not helpful; yes, obviously, price matters, but other factors also come into play when selling a property, and Mike was simply unable to offer much in the way of expert guidance and useful assistance. Second, Mike was extremely LAZY in carrying out his duties and responsibilities as the listing agent for my property. For example, over a four month period, Mike held only ONE (!) open house for my property… Any competent agent will tell you that that's utterly INSANE and unconscionable (this, after repeated requests from me for him to up the amount of effort that he was expending on properly marketing my property), if only because you never know where a buyer will come from… More generally, Mike's ineptness and lack of dedication to "the cause" was, at numerous times, simply appalling… For example, in early December, he unceremoniously announced that he was "leaving for the south of France for the holidays" and that we would not be returning to the USA until the New Year (!). This lack of commitment to his work and his clients needs/interests was shocking to me… Imagine my surprise, then, when around Xmas time Mike sends me a text message from France announcing that he has, for the past week, been "negotiating on my behalf" and that he now has an offer to put in front of me… At no point prior to this text was I even TOLD that someone had expressed interest in my property, much less that he was now negotiating on price, cash-to-buyer at closing, etc. In this "negotiation" process (which, again, I was NOT consulted on in any way), Mike did what was easiest for him to do, namely, he significantly CHIPPED AWAY at my listing price, and he also offered the buyer a significant amount of cash-at-closing to incentivize the sale. This "bargain basement" approach to selling a very nice condo property in a very fashionable/popular neighborhood in DC (CoHi) are the actions of an agent who just wants to "get his commission" and to move on what's next; these are most definitely not the actions of an agent who is working hard to get maximum dollar for his clients. In all of this, I DEEPLY RESENT the fact that while I was very keen to sell the property, I was placed in the difficult situation of being presented with a deal that had already been negotiated to the point where I was getting far less for my property than I would have in the hands of a more competent agent. In such a situation, many ethical agents will, for example, offer to take some of the cash-at-closing out of their OWN commission -- no way Mike was going to do anything like that; far too greedy. Well, folks, to all of this all I say this: real estate agents are going the way of the dodo… And it's behavior like this that will hasten their demise; agents like Mike, that do nothing but draw outsized commissions for very little work, are ultimately a net negative for clients like me. Without a doubt, if I had it to do it all over again, I would avoid Mike like the plague - his hunger for money, combined with his inherent laziness and general ineptness are simply beyond compare; without a doubt the worst realtor I have ever dealt with. Buyer (and seller!) beware.

Local knowledge
Process expertise
Responsiveness
Negotiation skills
written on 2/15/2018 by zuser20160509005328964 Sold a Condo home in 2018 for approximately $600K in Columbia Heights, Washington, DC.
Highly likely to recommend

Mike was very easy to work with and very knowledgeable on the market. He was always available to answer our questions which we had a lot as this was our first home. Thanks to mike we purchase our home , and we couldn't be any happier! Will definitely work with him again and also recommend him to other buyers.

Local knowledge
Process expertise
Responsiveness
Negotiation skills
written on 10/3/2017 by zuser20141219125504247 Bought a Townhouse home in 2017 for approximately $275K in White Plains, MD.
Highly likely to recommend

This was my first experience as a home seller. Mike perfectly approached all my requests and helped me sell an investment property with the outstanding customer service. He proposed an efficient sale process, arranged for the staging and photographs, gave me good and thoughtfully critical advice on finishing the house. The sale went very well. I can’t wait to work with Mike again.

Local knowledge
Process expertise
Responsiveness
Negotiation skills
written on 9/23/2017 by i shavkat Sold a Single Family home in 2017 for approximately $325K in Woodbridge, VA.
Highly likely to recommend

It was a pleasure working with Mike. Got an offer within couple of days of listing the property and closed in a month. Definitely recommend him to list or buy a home.

Local knowledge
Process expertise
Responsiveness
Negotiation skills
written on 8/17/2017 by sasank melanathuru Sold a Condo home in 2017 for approximately $300K in Herndon, VA.
Might recommend

Mike was very eager to help and quick to respond. He is personable and easy to work with.
He seems to work in many parts of No Va, so his knowledge of Reston did not seem deep, and a couple of times he got caught in traffic coming in from distant locations.

Local knowledge
Process expertise
Responsiveness
Negotiation skills
written on 6/13/2017 by stevenbwebb1 Helped me rent a Condo home in South Lakes Dr - Soapstone Dr, Reston, VA.
Highly likely to recommend

I worked with Mike for 8 months. He left no stone unturned in trying to find the right home for my family's needs. He was a great listener, and asked the right questions to help narrow our search.
During the loan process and closing, he was an incredible advocate, and again, made sure I understood everything that was going on and asked me how I would like to respond or move forward.
He is connected with capable people, experts in their fields, to help move along the process. He was with me until the last piece of paper was signed. Million dollar service even though I was not a million dollar buyer. Very grateful.

Local knowledge
Process expertise
Responsiveness
Negotiation skills
written on 6/1/2017 by lindylove7 Bought a home in 2017 in Sunset Hills, Reston, VA 20190.
Highly likely to recommend

Mike was very responsive and helped me in every way throughout the process till the closing is done. I would definitely recommend him. He has good knowledge about the neighborhood

Local knowledge
Process expertise
Responsiveness
Negotiation skills
written on 5/30/2017 by zuser20151009022422879 Sold a Townhouse home in 2017 for approximately $250K in Sterling, VA.
Highly likely to recommend

Mike was very professional, patient, and helpful in our search for a rental. At least ten different times he took us to various listings, and was always willing to do so.

Local knowledge
Process expertise
Responsiveness
Negotiation skills
written on 5/11/2017 by jmcelvey2 Helped me rent a Townhouse home in Sunset Hills, Reston, VA.
Highly likely to recommend

Mike has been our realtor for the past year and a half. He has helped us buy our dream home and sell our condo in the process. He has stayed on top of everything for us so that we don't have to deal with any inconveniences and has gone as far as coming to our new house on several occasions to have us sign documents so that we don't have to take time out of our day to meet him. Mike is extrememly honest and to the point which we have appreciated throughout the entire process. I would absolutely recommend Mike when looking to buy or selling your home.

Local knowledge
Process expertise
Responsiveness
Negotiation skills
written on 5/11/2017 by Meg0573 Bought and sold a Single Family home in 2016 for approximately $550K in Ashburn, VA.
Highly likely to recommend

I highly recommend Mr. Convin for purchasing or selling a home. He was very knowledgeable of the whole process and helped us through the entire purchase or our new home. Since we just moved from overseas to the U.S. , we were very new to the area, so it took us over three months to find the perfect house for our family. Mike was very patient and showed us many homes over many weekends until we found the home we could not wait to move in. He's a very skilled and adroit agent, and he looks out for your best interest.

Local knowledge
Process expertise
Responsiveness
Negotiation skills
written on 1/7/2017 by richardmcconkie Bought a Single Family home in 2016 in Woodbridge, VA.
Highly likely to recommend

We were in contact with Mike from Texas in 2015. He listened to what we needed and showed us multiple places. He was always looking out for us. Once we found a place he made sure to get look for our best interests. We contemplated buying several times. Mike was patient with is even after we backed down a couple times. Finally when we were ready to buy, Mike took great care of us. He negotiated to get us the best rate and least amount at closing possible. Mike was on top of everything. As first time home buyers we had heard horror stories of buying but Mike made our experience relatively painless. We closed on our house 9/30/2016 all thanks to Mike CONVIN. I recommend him to anyone moving into the are.

Local knowledge
Process expertise
Responsiveness
Negotiation skills
written on 10/5/2016 by zuser20150405115955187 Bought a Single Family home in 2016 for approximately $425K in Stafford, VA.
Highly likely to recommend

We settled on August 30th, and I can honestly say that from day one Mike made this experience as stress free as possible. My husband and I truly appreciated his honesty and commitment to staying within our budget! He even accommodated our schedules and met us early in the morning or later in the evening. We will definitely refer our friends and family to him since he has proven to be a trustworthy realtor, and now friend!

Local knowledge
Process expertise
Responsiveness
Negotiation skills
written on 9/16/2016 by snappi3 Bought a Townhouse home in 2016 for approximately $350K in Leesburg, VA.
Highly likely to recommend

Mike helped my wife and I buy our first home. He worked tirelessly trying to find us a place that fit both our specifications. Mike was the one that found the property that was perfectly within our price point and checked off all our needs/wants. He advocated for us and got us a great deal. He cares about protecting his clients and was always honest and upfront. He is very knowledgeable about real estate and knows the ins and outs of the real estate buying process. We are so glad that we found Mike. We just moved in and couldn’t be happier.

Local knowledge
Process expertise
Responsiveness
Negotiation skills
written on 8/29/2016 by Kyle Correa-Brady Bought a Townhouse home in 2016 for approximately $400K in Bristow, VA.
Highly likely to recommend

Mike Convin was a pleasure to work with. My wife and I saw several properties. Mike was patient and provided great feedback positive and negative on each property we saw. His background, from the finance side, was a great help in the negotiation stages.

Mr Convin cleared every obstacle and made a smooth runway for our home purchase. My wife and I liked him so much, we ask him to list our condo as well.

I highly recommend him to anybody who's looking at buying or selling a home in the Northern Virginia area

Local knowledge
Process expertise
Responsiveness
Negotiation skills
written on 7/16/2016 by DomInic16 Bought and sold a Single Family home in 2016 for approximately $550K in Ashburn, VA.
Highly likely to recommend

He is a very great professional that goes the extra mile to help you find what you are looking for. He tries to identify what exactly you are looking for and makes sure you get what you want. He is very knowledgeable about the local area and what's available that fits your needs and budget. He will make sure that your needs are met and wants to make sure you are happy in the end with your decision.

Local knowledge
Process expertise
Responsiveness
Negotiation skills
written on 7/6/2016 by Nathan Faber Bought a Single Family home in 2017 for approximately $325K in Stafford, VA.
Highly likely to recommend

My wife and I had the pleasure of working with Mike Convin on the purchase of our condo. Mike is a great real estate agent. He has the knowledge, skill, expertise and experience of the home buying process. He kept us up to date with everything related to the purchase of our home. Mike also has a great sense of humor which was an added plus for us. We definitely recommend Mike Convin as a real estate agent.

Local knowledge
Process expertise
Responsiveness
Negotiation skills
written on 6/5/2016 by jennifermadkins Bought a Condo home in 2016 for approximately $200K in Silver Spring, MD.
Highly likely to recommend

Mike was great to work with. He will look out for your best interests and help you through the buying process. He showed me a lot of possible properties and made good suggestions on what to offer on several properties that we looked at. Highly recommended.

Local knowledge
Process expertise
Responsiveness
Negotiation skills
written on 5/26/2016 by d0an nguyen Bought a Multi Family home in 2016 for approximately $350K in Oak Hill, VA.
Highly likely to recommend

Mike contacted me after I went online for a real estate agent. I was in a situation where I needed to sell my home as soon as possible. Mike understood my situation and he had an offer on my home the first day it was on the market. I got my asking price and closed within 45 days. I would recommend Mike to anyone I knew who needed to sale their home.

Local knowledge
Process expertise
Responsiveness
Negotiation skills
written on 5/3/2016 by stermandrain Sold a Single Family home in 2016 for approximately $325K in Woodbridge, VA.
Highly likely to recommend

Mike is a very hard working and very effective agent. He helped us sell our house. He does his homework very well and is well prepared with everything that is needed before the property is put on sale. With solid experience he has in the industry, he proactively made us aware of everything beforehand so that we could take care of things well in advance . We put the house in market and within a couple of days we had a contract .
I would recommend Mike to anyone interested buying or selling a property because he is an expert, he doesn't push you or force you into anything and has a lot of patience.

Local knowledge
Process expertise
Responsiveness
Negotiation skills
written on 3/31/2016 by shivatata Sold a Townhouse home in 2016 for approximately $400K in South Riding, VA.
Highly likely to recommend

Mike is a nice person to work with. He is very responsible ad hard working.
He works hard for the property and always accessible through phone and email.

Local knowledge
Process expertise
Responsiveness
Negotiation skills
written on 12/29/2015 by prakashrajpandey Listed, but didn't sell my Townhouse home in 2015 in Centreville, VA.
Highly likely to recommend

Mike Convin treats his customers with the utmost importance. He understands your needs and sticks with you throughout the entire process. His unique and cutthroat approach is very direct. He tells you his honest opinion on the property as if he is going to buy it himself.

Local knowledge
Process expertise
Responsiveness
Negotiation skills
written on 12/28/2015 by SteveNguyen730 Showed home in 2015 in Bates Acres, Great Mills, MD 20634.
Highly likely to recommend

I own a home inspection company in the Fredericksburg, VA area and am familiar with a lot of realtors who DON'T want a home inspection that is too thorough. Some want the deal to go through quickly and Painlessly. Mike impressed me from the beginning by stating "If I'm going to put my name on it, I want my clients to know everything going in." He was relentless in holding a less than honorable sellers feet to the fire, making sure a long list of deficiencies found during the home inspection were addressed properly. He arranged to have us go back to re-inspect the house a total of three times. In the end his clients got the house they wanted, in the agreed upon condition.

Local knowledge
Process expertise
Responsiveness
Negotiation skills
written on 12/27/2015 by jfields22553 Bought a Single Family home in 2015 for approximately $325K in Fredericksburg, VA.
Highly likely to recommend

Whatever your Real Estate needs, call Mike. He can get it done. From the first initial phone conversation we had with him, we knew we found our Realtor. He assisted us from start to finish on purchasing our home, even researching other properties background in order for us to properly and carefully choose our perfect home. He always kept us in the loop of where we were in the home buying process. Mike's negotiation skills are top notch, and as an added bonus his knowledge of the mortgage industry is also an excellent asset and resource. Mike is tireless, persistent and truly cares with an infectious personality. We truly loved the service Mike provided, and would use him again in the future for all our Real Estate needs.

Local knowledge
Process expertise
Responsiveness
Negotiation skills
written on 12/26/2015 by btreli4 Bought a Single Family home in 2015 for approximately $325K in Fredericksburg, VA.
Highly likely to recommend

mike helps me with decisions in buying commerical property , he is very knoweldgeable in the commerical realestate maket, is very trustworthy, and is always ready to help if any problem arises

Local knowledge
Process expertise
Responsiveness
Negotiation skills
written on 12/24/2015 by leespearson Bought a home in 2015.
Highly likely to recommend

I have had the pleasure of knowing Mr. Mike Convin for over 5 years. During the years of our acquaintance, I have known Mike in many capacities. He has been my god sent in both personal and business endeavors. Mike was able to help me with our home refinance when every one else gave up on me. His work was thoughtful , diligent and most effective as he never gave up on me and was able to come through with many hours of hard work.

On a personal note. Mike have always been a true friend. Always there for me through thick and thin, in good times and bad times. He is honest and will always follow his heart with honesty and integrity

Mike is an intelligent, capable, dedicated, and personable man. He is always quick on his feet, with sensible reactions in all the circumstances I've seen him in. I feel confident in saying that he is capable of handling any situation with thoughtfulness and maturity .

Currently Mike is helping us renovating our two homes for upcoming listings.

My utmost sincerely,

Kim Le

571-499-3900

Local knowledge
Process expertise
Responsiveness
Negotiation skills
written on 12/24/2015 by kimloanle12 Bought and sold a Single Family home in 2015 in Sterling, VA.
Highly likely to recommend

We looked at 2 properties in Annandale and one in Alexandria. He worked hard to find us a property that suited our needs. We would do business with him again and recommend him.

Local knowledge
Process expertise
Responsiveness
Negotiation skills
written on 12/24/2015 by cyclepros1 Showed home in 2015 in Fairfax, VA.
Highly likely to recommend

Working woth Mike Convin helped us review, visit and make proper offers on homes in my area. His local experience proved to be the game changer. He was able to use his brokerage experience to negioriate through the entire process. Top Notch - Mike put us first in his priorities.

Local knowledge
Process expertise
Responsiveness
Negotiation skills
written on 6/17/2015 by James Grein Bought a home in 2015.
© Zillow, Inc., 2006-2014. Use is subject to Terms of Use What's a Zestimate?